Hi there! You are currently browsing as a guest. Why not create an account? Then you get less ads, can thank creators, post feedback, keep a list of your favourites, and more!
Quick Reply
Search this Thread
Test Subject
Original Poster
#1 Old 6th Oct 2006 at 6:22 PM
Default basic bumpmap question
Hello

Maybe you can help me? I have tried searching the forums and maybe I've missed something, but I can't find the answer to my question.

It's really simple actually:

I don't add bumpmaps to me creations because my graphic card is not good enough- however, I have been using some templates meshes that are for texturing and recoloring, and some of them allready have bumpmaps included in them... Do I have to do anything with these? Paint them all black so they will not show on my textures, or can I just ignore them?

Maybe this is a stupid question--- but I'm a NOOB (:D) and it's much to learn in the beginning.
Advertisement
Forum Resident
#2 Old 6th Oct 2006 at 8:00 PM
you have nothing to do witht hese really
but just in case bumpmapping is very simple
when u r done making texture for ur skin...and when finished...open up the bumpmap and put a copy of ur base texture (coloured skin u make) over it and desatureate it and save
so in case someone has them enabled they see more detail...
world renowned whogivesafuckologist
retired moderator
#3 Old 6th Oct 2006 at 8:29 PM
If you are not going to be very careful with bump maps and cannot see them, do NOT do what Owaizoo recommends. You will generally end up with an incorrect bump map.

Just dump in a solid paint bucket fill 50% grey - RGB 128,128,128. Black or white will not work well. That will essentially give you the effect of no bump map at all.